In addition to… it’s great to be back at the Special Collections

DSCN4835
Sedona, AZ. Over Winter break I wanted to de-stress, after a challenging yet satisfying semester, by doing some backcountry hiking and camping. Beautiful.

Hello again, Special Collections!!! Hello again, to you all!!!

It was a great winter break, but all things must come to an end and reality sets in; which means getting back into gear because business awaits. In my last post, I had mentioned that I started processing the Association for Women Faculty Records (MS 334); as a carryover project from last semester it has proved to be quite difficult because I seized to work on this collection for 4 weeks.

1613837_449444068515003_702351421_n
Before:

Even when I started it, it was challenging. Since this collection consists of mostly additions- material added onto an established collection post ex facto- it was a handful. What happened is that somebody worked on this collection (in 1998?), described and arranged, and designed a finding aid for what was there- about 2 boxes. Then, December 2013 comes around and additions- 8 boxes- have been attached to this collection. It is my job to redesign this collection. What is an archivist to do but persist and pursue?

It might not look like it but I know where everything is at my workspace. It's good to be back.
After: Ahhh!!! Like a can of worms…It might not look like it but I know where everything is at my workspace. It’s good to be back.

Now, being a graduate student there are many papers one has to write and, as I’m sure you are aware, writers have a thing called “writer’s block” from time-to-time. It just so happens that archivists can experience the same type of displacement- cognitive dissonance. It is truly difficult, especially in this line of work, to pick up where you left off having to get back into the swing of things: following the lines of your own contrived logic of organization and discrete order of series.  I found myself asking: “what was I thinking when I put these documents in this series?” or “was I just going to re-folder these or was I going to extract items and place them elsewhere into a new series?” Ah, the things archivists think.

There are more projects underway this semester and I can’t wait to take them on.

On another note, the Special Collections has acquired some of this campus’ best. I am pleased to introduce Graduate Assistants, Liz and Alexa.

CAM00348
The dynamic duo hard at work.

Leave a comment